HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)  (Read 3808 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sheridanm962

  • TOO COOL 4 THA INTARNETS
  • Alien Grunt
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile

I do not know how can someone please give me a link,

thanks
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 09:00:59 PM »

iirc it's r_shadows 1
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 09:13:17 PM »

iirc it's r_shadows 1
The shadows were disabled in an early HL patch, so more than likely that wont work without some work.
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2010, 11:38:33 PM »

Eh. I wonder why. They shoulda kept it as an option for those who wanted it. I can always install my WON 1.0.0.0 version then. Thatd be your easiest solution.
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2010, 03:36:06 AM »

Apart from if you want to play any of the latest mods, they won't work with such an old version of Half-Life.

I think the reason they were removed was because they were buggy, looked like crap, and could be used as a cheat because they would go through walls. I honestly believe the game looks better without them.
Logged

sheridanm962

  • TOO COOL 4 THA INTARNETS
  • Alien Grunt
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2010, 11:16:51 AM »

that was the problem with the quake 1-2&3 engines because they put shadows in they forgot that the shadows are artificial but nowadays they have realistic specular shadows with high quality. the only thing about half life 1 is the shadows and the crappy water quake live is better so I think i'll play that instead and with my intel 82845G I can't handle source untill I get a better graphics card :'( also with my os Ubuntu 9.04 (linux) I can't change video settings with source games :'( I need windows so badly
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2010, 12:01:09 PM »

Buy Windows from a university dirt cheap ;P

I've never actually played with shadows on before. Weren't they just shrunken or angled sillhouettes of the model?
Logged

KylerAdams

  • A subtly invisible
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4253
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2010, 05:08:44 PM »

Buy Windows from a university dirt cheap ;P

You could do that.

OR you could consult google. :l

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1145504
Logged

sheridanm962

  • TOO COOL 4 THA INTARNETS
  • Alien Grunt
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2010, 09:43:54 AM »

nah you don't know how much times I have googled graphics fixes for half life 1 I can't run source games because of my graphics card and the fact that my windows xp is currupted making it lag in ubuntu and of which I can't use cedega because it doesn't work the games don't luanch
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2010, 09:35:54 PM »

Are you running in opengl?
Logged

sheridanm962

  • TOO COOL 4 THA INTARNETS
  • Alien Grunt
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2010, 01:20:44 AM »

yes open gl is the only one that looks good for me and the other options crash the game
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2010, 03:31:39 AM »

Goldsource performs best in opengl...go to the console, type net_graph 1 and tell me your fps.
Logged

sheridanm962

  • TOO COOL 4 THA INTARNETS
  • Alien Grunt
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2010, 09:58:04 AM »

I'ts around 20
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: how do I get shadows in half life 1 (gldsource engine, steam version)
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2010, 01:58:39 PM »

Yeah...go for a cheap graphics card that's PCI, which is what I think your board has. You'll run it very smoothly if you do that.
Logged