HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?  (Read 8478 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bCrypt19

  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« on: June 22, 2010, 02:38:05 AM »

Hi, I recently got into re skinning in Goldsrc and I was playiong around and thought that having the "Barney"s with bloodstains, scrathces, dirty clothes etc., would look cool, but when I added in the skin I noticed a problem: It doesn't make much sense before the Resonance Cascade. So what I want is to be able to have the guards (and maybe scientists) get progressively dirty and/or bloody as the game passes, and in "Unforeseen Consequences" everyone's a little bloodshot. I was thinking a slightly more bloody/dirty look with each passing chapter. Would this be possible? And if so, would it require alot (or any) coding? I'm not good with coding at all, and I like this idea.
Thanks ahead.

(Also a side thing I'd like, would it be possible in HL:S To get Barneys helmet reflecting the environment like some other models in Source Games? I want the helmet texture static for detail, but it reflects the env-texture, thanks ahead...Again)
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 02:45:45 AM by bCrypt19 »
Logged

bloodsurfer

  • The zxeno prophet
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
  • Coding furiously
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2010, 01:31:07 PM »

Well it won't require much code change, but you will have to change the map's entities, since the skin you want to use is map related
Logged

bCrypt19

  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2010, 01:55:46 PM »

Okay thanks. Anybody have any Ideas for the Helmet in HL: Source I mentioned?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2010, 03:46:28 PM »

I believe it should be possible to add new skins to Barney without any coding. It would require editing the entities in the maps however.
Logged

hlfan

  • Vortigaunt
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • For The Crowbar Powah
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2010, 06:31:24 PM »

A old version of HLFX, uses random pick model for the zombies, if you know some coding editing, you can use it for half life
Logged

bloodsurfer

  • The zxeno prophet
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
  • Coding furiously
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2010, 07:18:27 PM »

I believe it should be possible to add new skins to Barney without any coding. It would require editing the entities in the maps however.
Hum nope, there is no skin change in the barney's class
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2010, 12:30:28 AM »

Hum nope, there is no skin change in the barney's class
I just tested it, works fine.

Setting the KeyValue "skin" to 1 for the entity changes the skin group to the second skin.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2010, 12:33:48 AM by Matt »
Logged

bloodsurfer

  • The zxeno prophet
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
  • Coding furiously
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2010, 09:11:24 AM »

I just tested it, works fine.

Setting the KeyValue "skin" to 1 for the entity changes the skin group to the second skin.
Didn't knew that my bad, I though skin change had to be hard coded or specified in the fgd
Logged

reden

  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2010, 09:31:27 PM »

would be a good idea
but it'd be good to NSF barneys different faces so you make the game more realistic
so they do not always have the same face
as hgrunt :-\
Logged

fX8

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
  • Skype- ffelix8888
    • View Profile
    • My Webpage
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2010, 09:57:48 PM »

would be a good idea
but it'd be good to NSF barneys different faces so you make the game more realistic
so they do not always have the same face
as hgrunt :-\
That can be easely done....if someone teaches me to rig characters.  ;D
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2010, 02:23:45 AM »

If you want to rig on a new head, take your head mesh (make sure the eyes and mouth are aligned with the skeleton), put it in the proper place in MS3D, assign the corresponding parts to the right bones, export and compile.
Make sure your new head is around 2048 vertices...export+compile, well you will have to edit the qc, so it looks for other head groups like the hgrunt.
That's not the best explanation, my guess. It should get you started.
Logged

fX8

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
  • Skype- ffelix8888
    • View Profile
    • My Webpage
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2010, 05:21:10 AM »

If you want to rig on a new head, take your head mesh (make sure the eyes and mouth are aligned with the skeleton), put it in the proper place in MS3D, assign the corresponding parts to the right bones, export and compile.
Make sure your new head is around 2048 vertices...export+compile, well you will have to edit the qc, so it looks for other head groups like the hgrunt.
That's not the best explanation, my guess. It should get you started.
I know all you said. The problem is that it's hard in my opinion to connect all vertices to bones because there are lips, teeth and gums and I can't connect them to bones so easily. I'm using 3ds max. But if you think that it can be easier done in MS3D I can try.
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2010, 04:12:58 PM »

I don't know 3DS Max at all, but i could help you with MS3D
Logged

Mafisha

  • Still a
  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #13 on: September 03, 2010, 06:28:15 PM »

If you want to rig on a new head, take your head mesh (make sure the eyes and mouth are aligned with the skeleton), put it in the proper place in MS3D, assign the corresponding parts to the right bones, export and compile.
Make sure your new head is around 2048 vertices...export+compile, well you will have to edit the qc, so it looks for other head groups like the hgrunt.
That's not the best explanation, my guess. It should get you started.
So will this make a new submodel? (I guess yeah).
---
In what way You can edit QC file?? How to do it? 'Normally'? Umm...
EDIT: Oh I get it now.
But how to apply skin colour to the face, so it's only one submodel with 2 skins?? I saw some people's 'hgrunt' who've done that...
« Last Edit: September 03, 2010, 07:47:43 PM by Mafisha »
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #14 on: September 03, 2010, 08:52:31 PM »

You have to create a skingroup in the qc. There's an example of one in the houndeye. Good luck!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2