HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?  (Read 8473 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Mafisha

  • Still a
  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2010, 06:03:18 PM »

OK, I got this!
Editing .qc file is extremely easy.
But here goes one more question:
What can I do to submodels 2&4 (HL standard) so both skins appear? 'Cos s2 was only white, and s4 black...
So even when there's two faces made for them (and 'noted' in .qc file) only the old skin appears...
If You know what I mean...
Does that require map change? (I hope not)
Logged

bloodsurfer

  • The zxeno prophet
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
  • Coding furiously
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2010, 07:15:12 PM »

OK, I got this!
Editing .qc file is extremely easy.
But here goes one more question:
What can I do to submodels 2&4 (HL standard) so both skins appear? 'Cos s2 was only white, and s4 black...
So even when there's two faces made for them (and 'noted' in .qc file) only the old skin appears...
If You know what I mean...
Does that require map change? (I hope not)
Like matt and I said before it's either an entity change or you have to code a random skin pick up in the code
Logged

fX8

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
  • Skype- ffelix8888
    • View Profile
    • My Webpage
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2010, 02:21:12 PM »

Like matt and I said before it's either an entity change or you have to code a random skin pick up in the code
So it means that it neeeds map editing or code editing
Logged

Mafisha

  • Still a
  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2011, 05:48:12 PM »

Thanks for everything.
I tried a lot of possibilities 'till I got on 'a bit' more advanced...

And here's another question...
There is a body mesh, and I DON'T change anything in it but textures, but I can't compile it back because 'illegal parent bone replacement in model "hl_spas"/"hl_m16" '...
So STUPID, because I haven't made any changes (to the guns too) whatsoever! So did the previous person managed to compile this?
I tried with both studio.mdl and Milkshape, but studio crashes and Milkshape informs me about the error.
Can anyone help me [noob] with this one??  ???
Logged

bloodsurfer

  • The zxeno prophet
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
  • Coding furiously
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2011, 06:14:48 PM »

It's an old and regular problem, mostly due to compiling/decompiling (also use Kratisto's HL model decompiler in the Tool menu)
Shoud be solved with this

Also if your bodygroup is just a skin change then use skingroup
Logged

Mafisha

  • Still a
  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2011, 03:43:28 PM »

Okay, I'll try.

I get the new textures using Milkshape because Jed's Half-Life model Viewer won't let me get textures of different resolutions (e.g if the old picture is 512x512 then I can only import the ones which are 512x512 too), and Milkshape - it doesn't seem to mind.  ::)
Logged

bloodsurfer

  • The zxeno prophet
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
  • Coding furiously
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #21 on: February 10, 2011, 09:27:53 AM »

Can't blame Jed's modevel viewer, it's working with compiling model where Milkshape is working with source of the model

Also you didn't get what I meant in the QC file there is a section for bodygroup wich let change a reference by an other, in the same idea a skin group can change a texture by an other for any reference
Logged

fX8

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
  • Skype- ffelix8888
    • View Profile
    • My Webpage
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #22 on: March 21, 2011, 08:46:37 AM »

Today I took a look on HL source code. I'm 0 at coding but after 5 minutes I've edited it and now scientist heads are taken randomly on every map. So it should be a peace of cake to make it for barney on original maps.
Logged

hlfan

  • Vortigaunt
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • For The Crowbar Powah
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #23 on: March 21, 2011, 10:08:44 PM »

If you can do that .dll hack, can you give me a link via pm?
Logged

fX8

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
  • Skype- ffelix8888
    • View Profile
    • My Webpage
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #24 on: March 22, 2011, 05:52:49 AM »

If you can do that .dll hack, can you give me a link via pm?
Again. I'm not a coder. Someone who knows C++ should do this but I'll try.
Logged

waqwarrior

  • prettier than the average
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 872
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #25 on: March 22, 2011, 10:49:46 AM »

Make the pitch of the voice differ on different submodels like the scientists do.
Logged

fX8

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
  • Skype- ffelix8888
    • View Profile
    • My Webpage
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #26 on: March 22, 2011, 01:44:55 PM »

Hey hey hey. Slow down people. I didn't say I'll do it. I'll try
Logged

Besli

  • Mr. Database
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3075
  • Mr. Database! :)
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Skins for Barney's possible?
« Reply #27 on: March 22, 2011, 04:05:28 PM »

Can't blame Jed's modevel viewer, it's working with compiling model where Milkshape is working with source of the model

I know you can de/recompile with Jed's. But I only use it to change skins, so the size has to be the same as in the original.
In milkshape it's easy to replace a 256x256 with a 512x512, and backwards.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]