HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Converting CSS Models To Half Life Question  (Read 3413 times)

Bloodroke

• Snark
    • View Profile
Converting CSS Models To Half Life Question
« on: March 25, 2011, 04:41:40 PM »

My question is, after I decompile the CSS models, get everything fixed up to be used in GoldSource games and compile it, Studiomdl tells me that only 98% or around that number (depending on the model) of the texture has been used. When I check the model, the textures use a smaller dimension than what I had; For example, if I had a 512x512 texture, the texture in the model ends up being 508x508 or some odd number. Is there any way to fix this, and if so, how?

Also, is there some sort of way to divide a, say, 1024x1024 texture into 4 pieces, and do the same for the UV map so I can have basically the full texture in the model, but in 4 separate pieces? I am an extreme beginner at modelling, texturing, and whatnot, so pardon me if my questions sound extremely dumb.

*Edit* - I know that releasing converted Source to GoldSource models is illegal, but don't worry, I am only using them for my own personal use.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2011, 04:43:54 PM by Bloodroke »

bloodsurfer

• The zxeno prophet
  • Gargantua
  • Coding furiously
    • View Profile
Re: Converting CSS Models To Half Life Question
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 05:22:41 PM »

Bout the first problem, I can't say I have it too but meh fon't bother me too much

About the second yes it can be done easely even with milkshape, you have to make new group for each sub UV, unweld all the vertexes (select them all then Ctrl+shift+w) then select the faces belonging to a sub UV then click the button Regroup under the group tab (don't have any group selected) once you have done that for every group, just reasign each group to it's new texture, repose the uvs with the uv editor (Ctrl+T) and you are done