HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How do you convert a hl1 model to hl:s (need help)  (Read 2314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fred

  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
How do you convert a hl1 model to hl:s (need help)
« on: December 19, 2005, 01:43:52 AM »

Hi i whas wondering how do you convert a hl1 model to hl:s.
Logged

BUGMAN

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
  • Headhunters all the way
    • View Profile
Re: How do you convert a hl1 model to hl:s (need help)
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2005, 08:18:39 PM »

DONT TRY I ALREADY DID IT IT WILL REJECTED YOU
 What?
No seriously, I wan't to know what went through your head when you made this post.
Logged

Frraksurred

  • Team HL:S:HD
  • Moderator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1822
  • ~ More Hi-Deffier ~
    • View Profile
    • World Wide Ambassadors
Re: How do you convert a hl1 model to hl:s (need help)
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2005, 11:14:08 PM »

Well, it is no simple or short task.  You can find links to all the programs used (that are not already in the SDK) in the "Modding for Beginners" thread.

-Using a modeling program such as Milkshape 3D, the model mesh must be moved to a Source compatible skeleton (in SDK or included with any comparable Source model), all the vertexes must be assigned to their appropriate bones and the bones named so the Source engine will recognize them. 

-Also a ragdoll must be created uing MS3D, or borrowed from a comparable model.

Both must be run through studiomdl in the SDK to create the proper files in your HL:S folders.

-Next all the textures must be converted to .tga format, resized to a power of 2 (64, 128, 256, 512) and run through the SDK to create the proper .vmt and .vtf files in the correct HL:S forlders.

Once I get home I can add a link to a tutorial if you're interested.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2006, 03:44:27 PM by Frraksurred »
Logged

Tsunami

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2062
    • View Profile
Re: How do you convert a hl1 model to hl:s (need help)
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2006, 01:16:06 PM »

It's actually very simple if you're converting to HL:S - since most of the models are straigt conversions anyway. You just have to edit a couple of QC commands and recompile the model with Source Studiomdl IIRC... it's been a while since I did it though
Logged

flynia

  • HLS-HD Team Member
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1298
  • EliTe HeAdCrAb!!!
    • View Profile
Re: How do you convert a hl1 model to hl:s (need help)
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2006, 04:41:12 AM »

-Next all the textures must be converted to .tga format, resized to a power of 2 (64, 128, 256, 512) and run through the SDK to create the proper .vmt and .vtf files in the correct HL:S forlders.

I'd also like to add that you can use Photoshop with a VTF plugin that can recognise the VTF file format.

It can be found here http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/index.php?p=39

Lastly here is the site Frraksurred was refering too http://www.hl-improvement.com/forums/index.php?topic=2220.0
Logged