HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Possible requirements?  (Read 3804 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Afro-Dude

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Possible requirements?
« on: March 12, 2006, 01:35:13 AM »

Hello there people!

I was wondering about this little issue, will this mod be an overweight jewel? I'm worried about it, because if I just can't run HL2 at an acceptable framerate, what it would be a modificatoin like this?

Thank you and have a nice day!

EDIT: sorry, I forgot to post my System, ehem....here we go

Processor: Pentium IV 1.7Ghz
224 MB of RAM
Integrated S3 graphics videocard...32 MB VRAM

and everything else
« Last Edit: March 12, 2006, 03:09:41 AM by Afro-Dude »
Logged

Anton

  • -
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2031
  • -
    • View Profile
    • -
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2006, 03:16:41 AM »

This is for the first Half-Life and should have the same requirements as Half-Life has.
Logged

sappy

  • HL:S:HD modeler
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • toss the salad
    • View Profile
    • moddb profile
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2006, 09:46:12 AM »

This is for the first Half-Life and should have the same requirements as Half-Life has.
I do believe that you are forgeting a few things:
1.tga high rez textures on levels and models
2.updated and enhansed levels and models
3.physics for objects and models
4.more varioations on p,w and NPC models(I aint totaly sure about the p,w models)
and some other thingies, so I do not  believe that it will have HL1's sys requirments for shure
Logged

Anton

  • -
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2031
  • -
    • View Profile
    • -
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2006, 12:46:08 PM »

Still if you can run HL2 at all should be eough .. RIGHT?
Logged

candle_86

  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Where no man has gone before (the tampon section)
    • View Profile
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2006, 04:39:24 PM »

Still if you can run HL2 at all should be eough .. RIGHT?

Should yes, depending on how well the engine takes the new add ons and if they are optimized to work with the engine.
Logged

sappy

  • HL:S:HD modeler
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • toss the salad
    • View Profile
    • moddb profile
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2006, 09:03:08 PM »

Should yes, depending on how well the engine takes the new add ons and if they are optimized to work with the engine.
uhum that's exactly what I ment
Logged

your evil twin

  • The Official Half-Life Guru
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1647
  • I eat Xen Crystals for breakfast
    • View Profile
    • Planet Half-Life
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2006, 03:06:13 AM »

When I tested HL:E on my old Pentium III computer with 16mb graphics card and 256mb RAM, it found it quite a struggle. Playable, but prone to crashing and occasional low frame rate and stuff.
Logged

User with the dancing badger

  • HIT's Resident Programmer.
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1267
  • ~= Master Of Mess =~
    • View Profile
    • HostileZone
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2006, 10:16:27 AM »

In my highly non-professional opinion, I would say that it will run HL:E okay. However I would suggest that you get 512MB of RAM as the Physics system (AFAIK) does have a lot of data to use and store.

The graphics card and CPU should be fine, assuming that it supports OpenGL.
Logged

hellion102792

  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2006, 08:20:06 PM »

When I tested HL:E on my old Pentium III computer with 16mb graphics card and 256mb RAM, it found it quite a struggle. Playable, but prone to crashing and occasional low frame rate and stuff.

Ok, so HL:E is out for me until I build my new comp...
Logged

sappy

  • HL:S:HD modeler
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • toss the salad
    • View Profile
    • moddb profile
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2006, 07:46:36 PM »

All I want to know is when the HELL is the media release gonna happen,and the Q is HLe gonna play on ya comp is not boldering me that much because it is not (yet) at hand I am worried about the current situation whaen it comes out we'll wait and see
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2006, 08:02:48 PM »

All I want to know is when the HELL is the media release gonna happen,and the Q is HLe gonna play on ya comp is not boldering me that much because it is not (yet) at hand I am worried about the current situation whaen it comes out we'll wait and see
Problem is that most of the new code since the last media update isnt stuff that you can really show off in screenshots. Mainly working on the physics system, trying to get it to not crash whenever the game is saved, etc

As for requirements, not really tested it on low spec machines yet, so cant really say. I will be higher than the standard HL requirements though due to the physics, more detailed textures and models.
Logged

sappy

  • HL:S:HD modeler
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • toss the salad
    • View Profile
    • moddb profile
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2006, 11:06:54 AM »

Well that is something atleast we know what are ya working on :)
Logged

Anton

  • -
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2031
  • -
    • View Profile
    • -
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2006, 06:49:50 PM »

Are you a very busy person Matt? I don't see you on the forums very much!
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2006, 09:27:29 PM »

Are you a very busy person Matt? I don't see you on the forums very much!
Yeah, very busy. Between university, HLE, and several other projects im working on, i dont get much free time.
Logged

candle_86

  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Where no man has gone before (the tampon section)
    • View Profile
Re: Possible requirements?
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2006, 04:55:30 PM »

just so long as i can handle it ill be happy

XP 2600 Barton
384mb DDR333
9600Pro 256
Logged
Pages: [1] 2