HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Shadows  (Read 5725 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ZylonBane

  • Radiation Hazard!
  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Radiation Hazard!
    • View Profile
Shadows
« on: May 13, 2006, 09:34:19 AM »

will the hl:e enable the shadows back
they were disabeld in 1.0.0.9 patch
Logged

Sandler

  • Half-Life Addict
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 596
  • =D
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2006, 01:03:26 PM »

I think only if they make them better cuz the ones that were in HL sucked.
Logged

Tri182

  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Gman Stares. You're Confused.
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2006, 04:14:41 PM »

Yeah that would be cool if there were shadows like in RE:CB
Logged

sappy

  • HL:S:HD modeler
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • toss the salad
    • View Profile
    • moddb profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2006, 02:43:52 PM »

I think only if they make them better cuz the ones that were in HL sucked.
Not as bad as Sin's. But yeah if they can make 'em better heck it will be just another thing to enjoy
Logged

Erty

  • Mapper, skinner and a bit coder
  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • I'll rip off your head and shit down your neck!
    • View Profile
    • My website, could be coded by me, but I was too lazy...
Re: Shadows
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2006, 06:14:31 PM »

CZ and CS 1.6 had very good shadows, so it's possible to make better shadows. Just make a transparent texture wich aligns to the floor under a model! (And maybe, make it stretch away from light sourches!)
Logged

Frostbite

  • Today I've molested a...
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2466
  • Can't shake this feeling.
    • View Profile
    • Frostbite
Re: Shadows
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2006, 06:32:18 AM »

CZ and CS 1.6 had very good shadows, so it's possible to make better shadows. Just make a transparent texture wich aligns to the floor under a model! (And maybe, make it stretch away from light sourches!)
CS had shadows???
Logged

technoblue

  • Alien Grunt
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2006, 07:07:10 AM »

CS had shadows???

It's a blob shadow, i.e. transparent/alpha blended black circle underneath the player.
Logged

SaxonSwine

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1488
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2006, 04:02:00 PM »

Yeah sadly the CS shadows were actually crappy sprites (even more low-fi than the technique seen in MGS for the PSX).

What we need is for Valve to release the engine code, like ID did with Quake 1-3.  Then you could get actual real time shadows, bump mapping etc coded into the engine (see Quake and Quake 2).  Some Quake 1 engine variants actually suppoted HL1 maps, WADs and Models but not the DLLs!
It might be possible for a skilled coder to figure out how to read the HL DLLs and Sprite in a modified Quake Engine if Half Life BSP and MDL support is there already....
Logged

Frost

  • M.I.T. (Mapper in Training)
  • Vortigaunt
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
  • Corgi... with Glasses
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2006, 08:58:18 PM »

Yeah sadly the CS shadows were actually crappy sprites (even more low-fi than the technique seen in MGS for the PSX).

What we need is for Valve to release the engine code, like ID did with Quake 1-3.  Then you could get actual real time shadows, bump mapping etc coded into the engine (see Quake and Quake 2).  Some Quake 1 engine variants actually suppoted HL1 maps, WADs and Models but not the DLLs!
It might be possible for a skilled coder to figure out how to read the HL DLLs and Sprite in a modified Quake Engine if Half Life BSP and MDL support is there already....

Umm... It's already possible to add bump mapping to the HL1 engine. the Paranoia Team has done it. There's already a few pics of it on modDB.
http://news.moddb.com/16870/new-graphic-features/

Also, since it seems to be possible to program in something like bump maping with out the source code, who's to say that better shadows can't be made?
Logged

James

  • Throw THIS at THAT!
  • Global Moderator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3663
  • <3
    • View Profile
    • Resident Evil : Cold Blood
Re: Shadows
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2006, 09:24:30 PM »

Better shadows can be made, they just run like shit.

www.chainstudios.narod.ru
Logged

RavenGT

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1603
  • Charlie Cyprus
    • View Profile
    • Half-Life Creations
Re: Shadows
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2006, 07:37:03 AM »

Crappy looking shadows > crappy programmed shadows anyday. Nothing is worse than shadows raping 30fps, even if they did look super sharp. Hell, I'd be satisfied with the CS shadow sprites if it was implemented in the other games as a basic default shadow.
Logged

Flowers Of Naivety

  • DIE DIE DIE
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3246
  • kikikimamama
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2006, 10:45:11 AM »

I agree with Raven. Tenebrae for Quake 1 runs at like 3fps NO MATTER what rig you have. Hopefully the future of Quake 2 Extreme and the mod they are making won't suffer the same fate.
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: Shadows
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2006, 10:47:54 AM »

Quote
I agree with Raven. Tenebrae for Quake 1 runs at like 3fps NO MATTER what rig you have.
hmmm, works fine for me. Sure its not as smooth as alot of other games, but its playable
Logged

Flowers Of Naivety

  • DIE DIE DIE
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3246
  • kikikimamama
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2006, 12:58:16 PM »

Wow your lucky. Most people can't play it... I wish I could :(

But back on topic... I don't think HL would look good with real time shadowing. It's not meant to have the same atmosphere as D3 or Q4, it's meant to be lit up, expect for a few sections.
Logged

Shadowe

  • Dreamers, shapers, singers, and makers.
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 575
  • We are building a religion...
    • View Profile
Re: Shadows
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2006, 10:41:03 AM »

Wow your lucky. Most people can't play it... I wish I could :(

But back on topic... I don't think HL would look good with real time shadowing. It's not meant to have the same atmosphere as D3 or Q4, it's meant to be lit up, expect for a few sections.

I could run at least 60fps on an mx420, and i easily hit the fps cap on my 6600gt.
Logged