HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.  (Read 12129 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BV9100

  • Forum's Mercenary
  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • No. Just No.
    • View Profile
How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« on: June 23, 2005, 04:00:41 PM »

1. For example, you want to put SD HEV hands to a weapon which uses SD OP4 hands. You do the following:
   Let's say, the weapon which uses OP4 hands is a shotgun and the other weapon which uses SD HEV hands
   is a 9mmAR. 



2. Let's make 2 folders: v_shotgun and v_9mmAR. Decompile both in they seperate folders.
   Now, you see much files. We need only the .qc files.


3. Now, open the Shotgun which uses OP4 hands and search for the following:
   //reference mesh(es)
 
   $body "hands" "v_soldier_hands_ref"

   $body "m4" "v_m4_p1"

   $body "m4" "v_m4_p2_test"

   Now, we need only the  $body "hands" line.

   Now, copy the reference and the textures from the folder where the 9mmAR (SD HEV) is to the shotgun's folder.

   Now, once you copied the references and the textures, open the shotgun.qc again.

   Now, replace the
 
   $body "hands" "v_soldier_hands_ref"

                    to
   $body "hands" "v_gordon_hands_ref"
   
   Once you have done, compile the Shotgun.qc and you are done.

   
   
I hope this helps. If not, feel free to ask me questions. =D
Logged

Biohaz@rd

  • Alien Grunt
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
    • The Last Citizen/ The Lost Survivor
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2005, 06:20:29 PM »

Well, actually this only works if the skeleton is the same, and the bones are named the same in both models. I think there was another way for doing this with hands using different skeletons...but I can't remember where I read it...
Logged

Kosi

  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 684
  • you're such a wonderful person to know
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2005, 08:13:03 PM »

Well, actually this only works if the skeleton is the same, and the bones are named the same in both models. I think there was another way for doing this with hands using different skeletons...but I can't remember where I read it...

It is possible, yeah. But it's more complex than that, as you'll need to do some bone reassigning and renaming.
Logged

BGE

  • Vortigaunt
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2005, 11:53:47 PM »

This works for HD models, but how might one do the same process with regular LD models? For example, I'm attempting to replace the HEV arms with bare arms from another model. However, there's no reference for the arms, just the weapon.
Logged

Jrloco

  • Vortigaunt
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Yeah.
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2005, 11:20:22 AM »

Nice tutorial :D
Logged

Useful Dave

  • I'm Useful
  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I'm Useful
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2006, 09:03:55 PM »

Sorry if this is a 'Bump' but what do I do AFTER Compiling the .qc?, Just plop it all in the models folder?
Logged

Frostbite

  • Today I've molested a...
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2466
  • Can't shake this feeling.
    • View Profile
    • Frostbite
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2006, 10:04:26 PM »

Sorry if this is a 'Bump' but what do I do AFTER Compiling the .qc?, Just plop it all in the models folder?
heh ya you put the v_model into the models folder and try it out in game
Logged

Useful Dave

  • I'm Useful
  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • I'm Useful
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2006, 10:42:12 PM »

Thanks, I saw that when I compiled another model. There was an Error in the model I had been compliling before, yet I didn't see it due to that speed of the MS-DOS SCreen.
Logged

Tony_Freeman

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2006, 11:40:31 PM »

Try to compile with MS3D first, it shows the error.
Logged

Editor321

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1182
  • HOE NE Team
    • View Profile
    • Half-Life Creations
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2006, 01:27:47 AM »

Try to compile with MS3D first, it shows the error.

If the MS3D can handle the compile, half the stuff i do it crashes, so i use the raw studiomdl.exe with a bat file that pauses the dos screen at completion or an error, woulds quite well
Logged

SureShot

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1674
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2006, 12:45:22 PM »

If the MS3D can handle the compile, half the stuff i do it crashes, so i use the raw studiomdl.exe with a bat file that pauses the dos screen at completion or an error, woulds quite well

Or GUI Studiomdl ;)
Logged

James

  • Throw THIS at THAT!
  • Global Moderator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3663
  • <3
    • View Profile
    • Resident Evil : Cold Blood
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2006, 12:59:04 PM »

Si a GUI version of Studiomdl? Ze whar?
Logged

SureShot

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1674
    • View Profile
Logged

h0t-d0g

  • Wheeeeeeeeee
  • Snark
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Alyx is HOT
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2008, 04:53:46 PM »

I was trying to compile the Romka's M16 on OP4 hands and this is what i got:
So please can some of you guys make it for me?

[File not found]
Logged

KylerAdams

  • A subtly invisible
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4253
    • View Profile
Re: How to change hands on view weapon models - The easy way.
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2008, 05:19:24 PM »

First of all, those are Ambient.Impact's OpFor arms that look like utter shit with Gearbox's textures.

Second of all, I have no idea what the fuck you messed up.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2