HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How to change the reference pose of a model with MS3D  (Read 3816 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sappy

  • HL:S:HD modeler
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • toss the salad
    • View Profile
    • moddb profile
How to change the reference pose of a model with MS3D
« on: November 16, 2006, 10:03:18 AM »

Thanks to Tsunami for providing me with information on how to do that
The point here is how to give a model a proper ref pose, since some have pretty bad reference poses.
For that purpose I'll use a simple sceleton to illustrate what needs be done, such as the leech's one.

1.Start Milk Shape 3d.  Import the model with skeleton in its original position
   1.1. Go into animation mode and move the joints around into the positions you want
   
   1.2. Set a keyframe(Ctrl+K) and export it as a sequence.
-Now you need to keep the model in the same position,the only way I know for that to happen is so:
   a)Go to Tools->DirecX Mesh Tools (and start it). Click the save icon without doing anything else,and there you have it, the is model in position you want it without any bones. Now go to Animate->Remove All Key Frames.Save it as an *.ms3d.
2. Go into the new sequence's SMD(open with Notepad or equal program) and copy the section which lists the bones and the coordinatest(the bit that's between time0 and end):
   
Code: [Select]
version 1
nodes
0 "Dummy01" -1
1 "Bone01" 0
2 "Bone02" 1
3 "Bone03" 2
4 "Bone04" 3
5 "Bone05" 4
6 "Bone06" 5
7 "Bone15" 0
8 "Bone16" 7
9 "Bone09" 0
10 "Bone10" 9
11 "Bone11" 10
12 "Bone12" 11
end
skeleton
time 0
0 0.000000 -5.127598 0.042582 1.570796 -0.000000 1.570796
1 0.123837 0.094794 -0.000000 -0.000000 0.008616 -0.000000
2 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 -0.000000 0.000000
3 2.275512 -0.015479 -0.000000 -0.000000 -0.017622 -0.000000
4 3.004501 -0.015479 -0.000009 0.000000 0.009159 0.000000
5 4.705776 -0.046438 0.000000 0.000000 -0.471000 0.000000
6 1.191924 0.015480 0.000000 0.000000 -0.497167 0.000000
7 -0.204456 0.148920 0.000000 0.000000 -0.000000 0.000000
8 -0.264583 -0.030062 0.000000 0.000000 -0.000000 0.610556
9 -0.591635 -0.580720 0.000000 0.000000 -0.000000 0.000000
10 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 -0.000000 0.000000
11 -0.067944 -0.246935 0.000000 0.000000 -0.000000 0.000000
12 -0.479865 -0.340550 0.000000 0.000000 -0.000000 0.000000
end
   2.1. Paste it over the same bit of the reference SMD.
3. Import the reference SMD again but only the sceleton,then merge with the *.ms3d( File->Merge ). Reasign the vertices to the bones they belong, and that's it, you have a properly working new ref pose.

There is also another way to do that as Minuit stated:
You'll need 3DS Max.

1) Download the .smd importer.
2) Set auto-key to "on".
3) Move the bones until they're in your desired position, much like you would if you were doing an animation.
4) Export as a reference, and you're sorted.
Logged

ruM

  • Talented, but Lazy.
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 946
  • "SHOOOOOSH!".
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the reference pose of a model with MS3D
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2006, 11:58:30 AM »

sappy you are a lifesaver.
Logged

sappy

  • HL:S:HD modeler
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • toss the salad
    • View Profile
    • moddb profile
Re: How to change the reference pose of a model with MS3D
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2006, 07:00:15 PM »

That coming from you(someone that's know for making cool models and animations) sound pretty ironically :-\
In any case all credit goes to Tsunami he said that it was posible to do it that way but he had not tested it wich I eagerly did and to my relieve it worked.And since I saw Gearbox seems to hate leaving proper ref poses for their HL1 models(both for PC and PS2) I wanted to have a better pose for them so I could edit them, the leech was just something that I needed fixed right now and really fast.
Because of that:



I needed a straight sceleton.
Logged

Tsunami

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2062
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the reference pose of a model with MS3D
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2006, 07:01:58 PM »

Glad to hear it works ;D
Logged

ruM

  • Talented, but Lazy.
  • Gargantua
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 946
  • "SHOOOOOSH!".
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the reference pose of a model with MS3D
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2006, 07:42:32 PM »

That coming from you(someone that's know for making cool models and animations) sound pretty ironically :-\

pffft I wish.
Logged

Besli

  • Mr. Database
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3075
  • Mr. Database! :)
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the reference pose of a model with MS3D
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2006, 07:43:43 PM »

I really have to try this! Because I have a nice Gus (the forklift driver) model,
and I want him to drive the forklift...
Logged