HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: [HL2SP SMOD] CSS SCI FI  (Read 11148 times)

fitzroy_doll

• Headcrab
    • View Profile
    • Amphibian Mods
[HL2SP SMOD] CSS SCI FI
« on: January 19, 2007, 12:38:05 AM »

CSS SCI FI is a single player modification for SMOD which uses maps from Counter Strike: Source as the setting for classic Half Life 2 "Counter Combine" action. CSS SCI FI mixes random generation of enemies and resources with map-specific scripting to create a fully realised and readily replayable game. The scripts used to achieve this were originally conceived by the SMOD author and have been expanded and elaborated to create a new HL2 SMOD experience.

This is a project I’ve been working on for several months. By adapting code from the SMOD author’s mapadds, I’ve written custom lua/mapadd files for 15 of the standard CS:S maps. The mapadds combine randomness with specific scripting to provide a realistic but fun experience.

Part of the goal of the project was to ensure that all sounds, textures and materials in CS:S appear as expected, without breaking anything in HL2. In this the project is a success, right down to the ringing bells in Inferno.

The script files are designed for SMOD 38, HL2 and CS:S. They have not been tested with other SMOD meta mods such as SMOD: Tactical and SMOD Redux but I can't see why they would not work.

This project was also a test to see how much editing you can do outside Hammer, with only the two script files to work with. The information I gained from this is all posted on my website, below. If anyone finds solutions for the problems I encountered, please let me know.

I hope you will enjoy these files, and the site.

home page:
http://www.amphibian.myzen.co.uk/css_sci_fi/

download page:
http://www.amphibian.myzen.co.uk/css_sci_fi_download/

Aydin

• The full metal alchemist
  • DoC Development Team
  • Gonarch