HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Quick Question(NOT A RELEASE DATE QUESTION)  (Read 2631 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Observer

  • I observe, that's all I'm good at.
  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Quick Question(NOT A RELEASE DATE QUESTION)
« on: December 14, 2007, 11:31:05 PM »

So far, from looking at your current screenshots, the mod uses the standard high-def weapons, maybe with a reskin. Say I wanted to use the OP4 redux weapons with the HEV suit hands with the mod. Could I do that? If I wanted to use a certain hgrunt model, could I do that? Or would I have to ragdoll it first?
Logged

Frostbite

  • Today I've molested a...
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2466
  • Can't shake this feeling.
    • View Profile
    • Frostbite
Re: Quick Question(NOT A RELEASE DATE QUESTION)
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2007, 11:55:31 PM »

So far, from looking at your current screenshots, the mod uses the standard high-def weapons, maybe with a reskin. Say I wanted to use the OP4 redux weapons with the HEV suit hands with the mod. Could I do that? If I wanted to use a certain hgrunt model, could I do that? Or would I have to ragdoll it first?
I'm pretty sure, they'll release the modified HLMV with ragdolls when the mod is released. My experiences with it, was that you load the ragdoll from a file, so you don't deal with it when compiling a model.
Logged

Observer

  • I observe, that's all I'm good at.
  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question(NOT A RELEASE DATE QUESTION)
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2007, 12:05:31 AM »

....soo...what? If I'm using the hgrunt model from Gman's new goldmodelpack, and HL:E comes with the standard HD, I can...load the ragdoll from the HD and use the ragdoll thing with mine? Sorry if I seem n00bish.
Logged

Frostbite

  • Today I've molested a...
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2466
  • Can't shake this feeling.
    • View Profile
    • Frostbite
Re: Quick Question(NOT A RELEASE DATE QUESTION)
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2007, 12:10:39 AM »

....soo...what? If I'm using the hgrunt model from Gman's new goldmodelpack, and HL:E comes with the standard HD, I can...load the ragdoll from the HD and use the ragdoll thing with mine? Sorry if I seem n00bish.
HL:E doesn't use HD models they use customized SD models (Step above the Ps2 ones.)

All you have to do is replace the gman model, and it should work.
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Gonarch
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1755
    • View Profile
    • HL-Improvement
Re: Quick Question(NOT A RELEASE DATE QUESTION)
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2007, 12:57:11 AM »

As long as the models are roughly the same same and bone structure, there shouldnt be a problem.

However, if the model is completely different shape, then a new ragdoll file might be needed. They are fairly simple to make though
Logged

Observer

  • I observe, that's all I'm good at.
  • Headcrab
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Question(NOT A RELEASE DATE QUESTION)
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2007, 10:43:42 PM »

Alright, I get it now. Thanks!  :)
Logged