HIT Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)  (Read 3839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SaxonSwine

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1488
    • View Profile
CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« on: March 09, 2008, 09:51:59 PM »

I wasn't sure where to put this, but I just came accross this rather cool tool which converts CS1.6 maps to COD4.  I haven't tried it out yet, but it will no doubt be useful to some people around here :)

http://www.maps.made2kill.com/mapconverter.php
The tool is only online, it isn't one you can download.

Spread the word!  COD4 needs more maps, and there are tonnes of good custom maps for CS.  I should mention that this only converts .MAP files, and not .BSP files.  If you want a .MAP file, try messaging the author of a map, or ask them (nicely) if they would convert it to COD4.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 09:56:23 PM by SaxonSwine »
Logged

Frostbite

  • Today I've molested a...
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2466
  • Can't shake this feeling.
    • View Profile
    • Frostbite
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2008, 10:37:40 PM »

Good, I can't stand cod4's radiant...ONLY 2 VIEW PORTS MAKES JAKEY GO CRAZY.
Logged

Nige111

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2601
  • Metal Gea.. I mean.. Shagohod?!
    • View Profile
    • Cake :D
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2008, 07:04:23 AM »

I'd prefer the other way around buuuut.... :3
Logged

SaxonSwine

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1488
    • View Profile
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2008, 01:32:27 PM »

Good, I can't stand cod4's radiant...ONLY 2 VIEW PORTS MAKES JAKEY GO CRAZY.
I haven't ever been able to understand any build of Radiant, and judging from most custom works done with it, not many other people can either :P  Theoretically, with the aid of this tool, you could totally set up Hammer for use with COD4.  It might be easier to make an FGD for COD4 or something... ;)

I'd prefer the other way around buuuut.... :3
Heh heh! ;D  I haven't ever been able to get maps made in Radiant to load in Hammer.  They always seem to fux Hammer up :(
Logged

Nige111

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2601
  • Metal Gea.. I mean.. Shagohod?!
    • View Profile
    • Cake :D
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2008, 02:45:13 PM »

Theoretically, with the aid of this tool, you could totally set up Hammer for use with COD4.  It might be easier to make an FGD for COD4 or something... ;)
Well if it only supports brushes (which it sounds like it does), then there's no point in making an FGD, since all entites, lights and such would have to be added in radiant, aswell as the textures.
Logged

SaxonSwine

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1488
    • View Profile
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2008, 03:24:58 PM »

I suppose that depends if the entities are culled or not?  To the best of my knowledge, Radiant would still load up entities you make in Hammer (or at least did waaaaaaay back in the days of Quake3)
Logged

tundra_cool

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2008, 08:27:35 AM »

Hahahaha, so cool.
Logged

User with the dancing badger

  • HIT's Resident Programmer.
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1267
  • ~= Master Of Mess =~
    • View Profile
    • HostileZone
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2008, 02:43:23 PM »

If someone posts a COD4 .map and the equivalent Hammer .map (Same scale and brushes in them both.) I might make a converter to convert COD4->Hammer. ;)

Of course someone else would need to test it, I don't have COD4.
Logged

Nige111

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2601
  • Metal Gea.. I mean.. Shagohod?!
    • View Profile
    • Cake :D
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2008, 06:41:56 PM »

I do. l:3
Logged

User with the dancing badger

  • HIT's Resident Programmer.
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1267
  • ~= Master Of Mess =~
    • View Profile
    • HostileZone
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2008, 03:00:07 AM »

I do what ? Who you marrying ? :o
Logged

Nige111

  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2601
  • Metal Gea.. I mean.. Shagohod?!
    • View Profile
    • Cake :D
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2008, 05:06:49 AM »

You, if you make a CoD4 to GoldSrc map converter. :3
Logged

tundra_cool

  • Houndeye
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2008, 09:37:52 AM »

If someone posts a COD4 .map and the equivalent Hammer .map (Same scale and brushes in them both.) I might make a converter to convert COD4->Hammer. ;)

Of course someone else would need to test it, I don't have COD4.

Do it lol. I've been talking with some friends and we might try to get Dust or Italy in the game for the fun of it. Would be cool on S&D or something.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2008, 10:31:07 AM by tundra_cool »
Logged

User with the dancing badger

  • HIT's Resident Programmer.
  • Gonarch
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1267
  • ~= Master Of Mess =~
    • View Profile
    • HostileZone
Re: CS to COD4 map converter (!!!!!!)
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2008, 02:02:27 PM »

Well if someone posts up the two .map files, I'll get to work. ;)
Logged